Professor Suzanne Miller

Profressor Suzanne MillerProfessor Miller commenced in the role of Queensland Chief Scientist on 12 December 2016 and is the state’s third Chief Scientist and first woman to hold this important post. Suzanne is continuing as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Director of the Queensland Museum Network, positions she has held since July 2013.

Suzanne’s appointment is an opportunity for the Department of Science, Information Technology and Innovation and the Queensland Museum to further align with the government’s science and innovation agenda, particularly through its Advance Queensland initiative, and the Office of the Queensland Chief Scientist’s emphasis on science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Previous roles

Prior to moving to Queensland, Suzanne was the Director of the South Australian Museum from 2007 to 2013. While in the United Kingdom, she was a Research Fellow at the Universities of Lancaster, Lecturer in Earth Sciences at the University of Aberdeen and the Open University, Geologist with the British Antarctic Survey, Researcher for BBC Science programming, and Geochemist with the Institute of Offshore Petroleum Engineering, Heriot Watt University/Conoco Philips.

Academic and outreach

Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, Suzanne studied Geology Honours at the University of St Andrews before completing her PhD in Marine Geology at Imperial College, University of London. She also received an Honorary Professorship from the University of Queensland and an Honorary D.Univ from Griffith University.

Suzanne is a Fellow of the: Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society, Queensland Academy of Arts and Sciences, Royal Society of South Australia, Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Geological Society of Australia, and Society of Economic Geologists.

Current advisory roles

Suzanne is Vice Chair and Australian Representative on the Board of Scientific Collections International (an OECD Global Science Forum initiative), Chair of the Council of Australasian Museum Directors, and Chair of the Atlas of Living Australia Management Committee. She serves on: the National Research Infrastructure Roadmap Expert Working Group, the National Cultural Heritage Committee, the Griffith University Environmental Futures Research Institute Advisory Committee, the Geological Society of Australia Geoheritage and Geotourism Standing Committees, and the Queensland Advisory Committee for the Commemoration of the Anzac centenary.