Science Celebration

This event was held in August 2016 to coincide with National Science Week and to present 12 Young Tall Poppy Science Awards.

Dr Makrina Totskia from QUT and Dr Barnaby Dixson from The University of Queensland were both named the overall Queensland Young Tall Poppy of the Year for 2016.

Each of the 12 young scientists delivered a one minute pitch on the research and communication activities that led to them being short listed for the award.

The event was held at the Queensland Museum and attended by more than 100 guests from the scientific community as well as award nominees’ family members.

Read about the awards and the extraordinary 12 winners in Minister Enoch’s media statement, Brightest young researchers picked for Tall Poppy Awards.

For more information on nominations and past winners visit the Tall Poppy Campaign.